top of page
Writer's pictureHarish Giri

Peek into the Mughal Era with Majjnu Awara. |FATEHPUR SIKRI-(Part -1)|

Updated: Apr 28, 2020

Fatehpur sikri - The city of Victory!

This was a very unplanned trip which I decided while sleeping in the hotel bed. I had come to visit Agra but I extended my stay for a day because I wanted this new adventure the next morning. The plan was to find a good travel agency the next morning and go for a sight seeing.

So the next morning I left the hotel at 6 am. It was a cold morning with a temperature of 6°C. I had the famous jalebi( Indian sweet), makhana curry (fox nuts curry ) and dal kachori (lentil kachori) on my way and buckled up to find for that one good agency.



I walked for a kilometer when suddenly an Auto-rikshaw stopped by me asking where I'd go. Well, he promised me then and there to make my day. He charged me ₹800 which was fair enough for a whole day tour. So I took an auto to the famous city of Fatehpur Sikri 40 kilometres from Agra. We stopped by to have food again in a highway dhaba.



The auto driver with whom I travelled was a native man of Agra city who told me stories about his childhood and the fast moving pace of the city to how it has changed. He mentioned that he wants to visit the Kumbh Mela once in his lifetime with his family and he has already started saving every penny he earns.

We entered the city at around 10 am and the red stone ruins were seen from a distance making me believe in history. There's always a how, why and when in the back of our minds whenever such beautiful ruins of the gone era is witnessed. He dropped me in the entrance and promised me he would take care of my luggage.





So, I bought the ticket to enter inside and visited the mosque first (which is free). This Jama Masjid is one of India's largest mosques and is also known as the Friday mosque. I was mesmerized by the great Iranian, Persian, Mughal architecture of the place. Inside the masjid complex there's the famous "Buland Darwaza"- (World's largest gateway) and The Tomb of Salim Chishti. It shows the finest examples of Mughal Architecture. The Buland Darwaza - The door of victory, was made by Akbar when he won his victory over Gujarat. It symbolises strength and power.










The beautiful jalis, arches, tombs, domes, arched niches, chatris and beautiful ornamentations were amazing. Every element of the 17th century built Masjid by the Mughal Emperor Akbar is truly a masterpiece.










to be continued.......


102 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page