top of page
Writer's pictureInk & Paper

Up-Close & Personal with NAAZ SULTANA!

Updated: Mar 1, 2020

“Stay grounded! Develop a habit to learn more”-Naaz Sultana


Naaz Sultana is a contemporary Indie Rock Artist from Guwahati, who have been prominent in the music scene for a long time. We at Inked Streets were privileged enough to know about her musical journey, acting forte and other things which she loves doing the most.


Naaz Sultana, a Guwahati based singer, songwriter and composer, has slowly but steadily been rising up in the popularity charts in Assam as an indie musician who lets hear heart guide her voice.

Inked Streets: -Greetings from Inked Streets, how the music scene has been serving you?

Naaz: - Warm greetings! So far by God's grace and with the love and support of the people, music scene is serving good


Inked Streets: -When and how this journey into the music scene began?

Naaz: - Well I never in my life thought that someday I would be a musician. Coming from a middle class family getting a job have always been an important subject. I was focused more in my studies and wanted to be a company lawyer. Growing up in Shillong (the hub of music) have influenced me a lot even though I realized it pretty late!! It was the year 2006, I was doing my B. com (honors) in Delhi University. I kind of figured out that I have a strong connection towards music. I used to visit a Christian NGO near my paying guest every Thursday as they had musical sessions which really captured my attention and dragged me there literally. The gospels they performed were so ear soothing. I joined them every Thursday for the gospel singing sessions. It helped me learn so much about harmonies, vibrato etc. wanted to explore more now. That’s when I realized I can create. It’s in me!! I formed a band called White Beryl in Delhi and that’s how the journey started. Music became my passion. In no time we performed in many reputed venues. Even qualified for the prelims of Channel V Launchpad. My composition even help me win the Barista acoustic artist of the year 2011.This achievements inspired me to experiment more. My love and passion for music overpowered my job priorities. After graduation I was working with Jet airways but was not being able to give more time to music, so it was time I had to decide my priorities .I chose "Passion”. I didn't want to later regret in life that I didn't follow my heart. It was not easy though, my parents never supported me, because they were scared if this will ever help me get established in life! But somewhere deep down my heart I believed in myself and trusted my decision. One women army!! ha..ha.. I took the major step and since then no looking back!! It’s been 15 years now full time into music!!!


Inked Streets: -Which genre do you think your music to be and what are some of your influence?

Naaz: -Progressive, alternative, Goth and indie rock have been a major influence in my life. I love listening to Tools, Porcupine tree, Mutemath , Portishead , Paramore , Radiohead , Audioslave and many more .I would term my music as alternative and experimental.

Inked Streets: -What Naaz likes to do apart from being a musician?

Naaz: -Apart from music I love angling and travelling. I am a member of All India Game Fishing Association .I have also officially participated in various angling competitions and happy to mention that did even win. Angling has enhanced my love for travelling. I also love doodling.


Inked Streets: -Your debut single "Xikoli" was a grand success, so how the song came up and what's the story behind it?

Naaz: -"Xikoli" means a lot to me. Real life experiences inspires me to write. We all go through immense pain in our life, unexpressed. I too have experienced and know how it feels like so I put myself in 1000 other's shoes to understand the intensity of the pain and the feelings they must be drowned in, the insecurities, the fears they go through, Depression etc...and then my effort to put across a message that we all need to be stronger, need to come out of the four walls that we have created in our minds and breathe!! So this thought helped me write and compose "Xikoli"


Inked Streets: -The fans knows you have a backing band, Tell us about it a little bit, and how the band was initiated?

Naaz: -The band was initiated with a very informal conversation with Rui Xing aka Majid who is a very talented drummer. He is also a core member of the band "Arogya" and "Rain in Sahara”. We decided to jam on my originals and also decided to do few gigs in the city. The first jam went great and we connected a lot music wise and because of the like mindedness we became very good friends. And through more jams and gigs met Pawan Damai, the lead guitarist of the band now (also a core member of Rain in Sahara and Manjeera). Pawan is a brilliant guitarist. Sourav Misra on the keyboard (also a core member of Hiraeth) is a wonderful musician. His unending desires to learn more makes him. Bipal Bagdas on the bass. I call him the groover of the band. He nourishes the band. They are all very talented, dedicated and determined. They have always been so encouraging and they give me the strength to create and experiment more.


Inked Streets: -After "Jaatri", now you have your next single "Gupon" coming up, when will your fans get to listen to the song?

Naaz: - Gupon is my fourth single. I am done with the recording sessions. Will be shooting the music video very soon. I am planning to drop it in January 2020.Fingers crossed.


Inked Streets: -Where have you performed? What are your most and least favorite venues? Any upcoming shows?

Naaz: - I have opened for the renowned Michael Learns to Rock in Guwahati 2015 I have opened various gigs for many Bollywood celebrities like Sir Adil Hussein, Vishal Bhardwaj, Nagesh Kakunoor, Gauri Shinde and many more. Also performed in various festivals in the city as well as outskirts. I have performed in various events. Have performed for companies like Seagram’s, United Spirits, Reliance, Honda, NRL, OIL India limited and many more. I do a lot of commercial events too. Have performed in civil events and festivals as well. I have done festivals like Falcon festival, Brahmaputra Film Festival after party for celebs, All India Art festival, Metropolis etc. Recently performed at Rongali festival 2019,one of the biggest festival of Assam where shared the same stage with the renowned Papon, Zublee, Doorbin, Neel Akash Performed in the Great Northeastern Momo Festival 2019. My most favorite venue was that of the Michael Learns to Rock concert. But truly every stage I performed was special in its own way. Will be performing on Urban Mantra Zoo road on the 13th Dec 2019.Will be performing my originals with a few covers.


Inked Streets: -You have also been the part of the movie, "Guwahati Diaries" and also did a playback singing for the movie, so how was that experience?

Naaz: -The experience was awesome being a non-actor. I learned a lot about acting. Acting is not an easy job. Hats off to all the great actors!! I feel happy and blessed to have even composed and sang a song for the movie. It was a little challenging to compose something which has to really sync with the story line. But truly it was so much fun.


Inked Streets: - Between being an actor and a musician, what do you enjoy doing most?

Naaz: - Both has its own charm!! Hope I have done a fair job in the movie!! haha Fingers crossed. But my heart goes back to singing no matter what other things I try to do in life .I enjoy singing and composing any day.


Inked Streets: - What are the basic themes and subject matters of your lyrics and what is your song writing process when you sit as a band to compose?

Naaz: -I try to highlight basic issues in life. I also focus on the present scenario. Most of my songs are based on real life experiences and based on the political and importance of individuality. I talk about things which people generally don't talk about! We all sing about the good side of life but the dark part of the life is often missed out .I like to talk about it. May be somewhere someone can connect. I am a story teller. My song writing process is very impromptu. I write and complete it within hours. Because I believe when we hold the pen to jot down our feelings. It should be done in one go! My project is my sole production. I write, compose, record and make music videos at my own expenses. I serve as an independent artist. The band accompanies me for live concerts. We call the project "NAAZ".


Inked Streets: -How have your music evolved since its inception? Any challenges you all faced and how have you overcomes that?

Naaz: -Since its inception yes did change a lot! Challenges have religiously followed me. But did overcome them. From being a western based vocalist I also started exploring into commercial Bollywood music to meet two ends need .But it’s fun because I improvise it in my own style.


Inked Streets: -What are your future plans for your band? Any EP or and album?

Naaz: -Right now I aim in dropping my singles. But yes in future I do have plans with the band. We may come up with an EP with a very different sound.


Inked Streets: -What is your ultimate direction as a musician?

Naaz: -I always wanted put it across that we can even make good music in our own regional language too and take it outside. I want to tour the world but singing songs in our regional language. I want to showcase our culture and show people around the world that we exist and we too create.


Inked Streets: -What will your one advice for the upcoming musicians in the local scene?

Naaz: -I want to just set an idea for the upcoming musicians that music has no barriers. One should not hesitate to experiment. But most importantly one's attitude matters. One's attitude can make you or can even break you .Stay grounded! Develop a habit to learn more. Create for the love of creating and not to prove. Learn to take criticism that will help you nourish yourself. Try to open up to different genres. That will help you figure out your sound. Trust me you will do wonders in life musically.


Inked Streets: -How can people gain access to your music? Any website or YouTube channel address?

Naaz: -I have a YouTube account as Naaz Sultana and also have my songs in SoundCloud. Will soon have my songs in Spotify.


Inked Streets: -Any message for your fans?

Naaz: -Love you guys. You guys make me. Thanks for always being so loving and supportive.

Inked Streets: -Thank you so much for your time ma’am.




Note:-This interview was done with a full consent from the artist, if there are some similarities in the content put into the post this could be a coincidence and due to the presets of the domain tied in to the forum. Thank you.



43 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page