top of page
Writer's pictureRaktim Kashyap

They call me a Nerd!

Updated: Sep 2, 2020


Haha, It’s funny that I am writing this little piece but it is so hilarious that how society sees us to be an introvert nerd that confines themselves into their geekiness 24/7. Yes, they be like, “You read too much you must be a nerd”, “you binge watch a series? Nerd”, “oh you are a gamer? Nerd”, “oh you collect comics and action figures? Nerd?” but why it makes us happy why we flaunt our geekiness or nerdiness so much and is proud of it? Maybe because some things for us was never a phase. We are not one of those who will watch a damn Superman movie to jump into the bandwagon, we do it with prior research from comic books or different media and can detect the difference if a movie is comic book accurate or not.


Same could go for my love for games or my taste in music, I never grew out of that phase

when I was spamming the X and triangle button on my joystick or banging head to freaking Metallica. Yes, I am a nerd and I am proud of being one. But being a nerd and being an introvert has a vast difference, because a nerd is more expressive and we wants to convey our opinion in public, which is why he has his own platform, maybe a social blog or a separate page on Facebook or instagram dedicated to his subject of interest.



If he is interested in travelling, he will be posting about his travel stuff all day long, if a girl is food lover, her insta page will be full of foods. That’s the thing, while an introvert is more reserved and doesn’t like to express.


People need to stop being in a mistaken state to confusing a nerd with an introvert or calling anyone with a reading glass a “nerd”, tell you what we were glasses because we find it classy and boosts up our personality.

So why do we choose to be different and weird you ask? Because the thing that we are well, “nerdy” or “geeky” about has been a part of our life since childhood and we like sharing and expressing our views about it.


For example I like games and music and I like to talk about them because that has been part of my life.



One more thing I do not like is that our nerdiness is often associated with laziness, but we ain’t lazy, we are just working our minds to put in our next theory or thesis or a retrospect even though we are not working any physical chore. It’s not that we get tiered or annoyed or irritated, but we are already working mentally which people doesn’t see.


No, we ain’t afraid to get a job and slog our butts for 9 hours but the thing is that it takes our

passion out of us and throws it in a trash can and we can’t enjoy the things we enjoyed doing, now I am not trying to justify, since it’s important to have a job and a fixed income as a security, but satisfaction is much more important than earning a hefty amount of money and only chasing for money, I know it’s complicated to understand for you all, but this is how I see things. I want to earn in my own terms which is why I chose to be a blogger and a writer and yeah I enjoy being a "nerd", as they says.


So, if that is not satisfying anyone than I am sorry to say that that’s how it is. I can’t sacrifice my passion for a job dear society, “Mujhe maaf karo!”

37 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Heroes By Will

Snow covers the caps on height, As if a painter's canvas all white. Waves of red fired all around, Cacophony of gunshots lingered loud....

Comments


bottom of page