top of page
Writer's pictureRimpi Deka

"The haunting of Chum-Chum bai"


Its been long since I have written and I wanted to share an experience of mine. I was 13 years old, when this started and I had no idea about what was going on.


So, one fine evening I was studying in my room and suddenly I heard sounds of " ANKLET (Payal) " as if someone is walking outside my studying room. At first I thought it was an Insect or something of that sort. I didn't give much thought about it then. After 2 days, at the same time I heard it again and this time I heard it twice and it was more clear and spontaneous. I was freaking scared and I was confused if it is in my mind or am I really hearing this sound. As, days passed by, the sounds became more frequent and the ratio of the sounds became more and more. I had a talk with my parents about this. They didn't pay any attention to it then. They thought that it was just in my mind. I changed my study room to see if that helps but it didn't worked either. I was frustrated and I was not able to concentrate on my studies. I ignored as far as I could. I also tried to spy, to see if someone was pranking on me trying to scare me but there was no one and the sound came from nowhere. It continued since, and I still hear it. And now, even my mom and my brother have started hearing this sound. The interesting fact is that before, the sound came only in the evening and night time. I obviously thought that it was some evil spirit as it came only in the night time but until recently I have been hearing this sound in daytime, afternoon, evening in the night and more frequently during mid-night and sometimes during the early-morning hours. Its like there is no boundaries, it will come whenever it feels like. I searched for it in the internet and I found out a lot of people have encountered this. And they have named it as "CHUM-CHUM BAI" which translates "Woman who makes Chum-Chum Sound, typically heard when a woman wears Anklet". People have also said that it can be the Goddess Kali or Witch or Ghost. I don't know that either. I am habituated to this sound now and I believe that where there is good there will obviously be evil.


Conclusion:

This has been my experience, and infact it has been the most eerie one to say the least. What do you think? Do share your views and thoughts in the comments by logging in.




56 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page