top of page
Writer's pictureTanisha Taskin

Our base is impure, then what are we?

Updated: Jun 14, 2021

It was a Sunday morning. I woke up to a strange pain and cluster of entangled feelings in my body. I was wet. Wet with blood. I was menstruating. I couldn't believe, changes was I witnessing. Mum came up and from a distance started guiding me with the rituals. She denied touching me. I was abstained from my regular activities and caged up in my room. Could you believe, I wasn't even allowed to sleep on my bed! I could not take the situation normally. I was submerged into a trauma. My body begged for someone to pamper it. The lower part of my body felt like it was being crushed by a huge tanker. It was a load too much for a twelve years old to handle, all alone. Time fluctuated on its pace and so I grew up with knowledge and virtues. I learnt in my biology classes, how menstrual cycle actually works and impacts on human existence. Now, I wonder, a woman blessed with the virtue to continue the human race is treated like a waste ought to be disposed off; then who are we? Aren't we all impure as we are all born from the fusion of the blood released by the ovules in the ovaries? The same blood I shed off every month is despicable but if I fail to give birth, they put a question mark on my dignity. God asks us to be the most merciful and it is he who created the universe, the males and me. He created me the way I am. He didn't make any rules but his creations did. You and me, we are slaves of the same God but you decide whether I can offer my prayers or not; isn't it ironical? It is 21st century, yet here prevails the custom of despising a woman who menstruates.


The base we come from is impure, the question arises on ourselves. Are we really pure?


45 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Heroes By Will

Snow covers the caps on height, As if a painter's canvas all white. Waves of red fired all around, Cacophony of gunshots lingered loud....

Commentaires


bottom of page