top of page
Writer's pictureRaktim Kashyap

GOODBYE OLD FRIEND!


Friendship, a beautiful gift from God next to love, a bond stronger than any relationship, built on the foundation of trust and royalty. But the funny thing is for a guy like me who was and still is full of life, had always kept his circle short since his school days. I don’t remember any guy from KG days. Hell I don’t even remember the face of my first crush. But during my days at Middle School in Guwahati there was one guy who had a special impact upon me.


Because back in High school itself, I was dealing with bullies and every f*****boy wannabes were eying for my sister, but this gentleman was the one who literally confessed his love for my sister back then and I was stumped thinking whether to laugh or be angry at him, but there was honesty in his eyes. He was the one out of the most who had been saving my arse in most cases. Others, some days they will be friendly, some other days they will be my worst rivals.


I wasn’t really rubbing shoulders with the ones with high rank, but teachers made me sit with

them so that I can “learn something”. However, I was more likely to sympathize with the outcasts and renegades like me who didn’t get the respect they deserved but they also kind of shunned me out. And so, I was left as being a loner in the crowd. But this friend of mine seen something special in me and stuck with me no matter what.

And then came the day which makes every school kinds cry, farewell day. This was the last time I saw him, talked with him and shook his hands, hell I wanted to hug him, but you know? I don’t like to get over emotional.


But thirteen years of no seeing and handful of texts over Facebook, I had no freaking idea where he was, all I knew he became a software engineer and a musician, said he wanted to be a DJ and keyboardist.


So yeah, life was serving him well, until four years later I got to hear the news that made me felt like ground slipping from my feet. I asked my best friend about that other guy like “where he was? And how he was doing?” When I heard these word, “Bro, he is no more, I am sorry.”


Yes, for four f***** years I was kept in the dark and no one told me that he was no more. All I wanted to say was, “Goodbye Old friend!” I guess I’ll just have to either drink this pain and drown my sorrows or just move on.

Many friends came into my life since my college days, some stayed loyal, some used and abused me, some stabbed me in my chest and some just attempted to ruin my life. But I will never have a friend like that, a man who was like light to my dark. “Farewell bud, I hope you are rolling up there.”


15 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Heroes By Will

Snow covers the caps on height, As if a painter's canvas all white. Waves of red fired all around, Cacophony of gunshots lingered loud....

Comments


bottom of page